Roofing Talk - Professional Roofing Contractors Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I'm not a professional roofer, but I have a question that somebody here may be able to help with.

We had a log cabin-type mobile home installed a few weeks ago. It has a shingled roof and we paid a fair bit extra to get 2-layer 'textured' shingles (Technonicol Architect 'Michigan' if it's important). The build was pretty rushed by the sub-contractor builders assigned to the job and we have had to call in the company who we bought the cabin from to put certain bits right. They have agreed to re-do a lot of the internal trim and floorboards as it's pretty ugly, but I also have an issue with the way the roof was done and so far the company are not being too helpful.

The shingles were fixed using 8mm staples in a tack hammer. I pointed out to the builder when he was doing it that he should be using clout nails, but he assured me they were 'heavy duty' staples and it would be fine - they are not; they're just regular 8mm staples. I told the company of this and they pretty much supported the builder. They said the clout nails supplied by the company who build the cabins are rubbish and that they never use them. I pointed out any clout nail is going to be better than a staple, but he wouldn't budge on his position. All he offered was a promise to replace them if they come off - not satisfactory in my opinion. FWIW, the shingles company installation instructions say there should be at least four 30mm clout nails per shingle. In fact, the cabin company's own website say clout nails should be used when laying shingles.