Roofing Talk - Professional Roofing Contractors Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am presently involved in asphalt sealing applications and would like to expand into other areas of work involving various types of coatings and sealer applications. Allthough i have some construction experience and done some roofing i do not have experience in applying the elastomeric roof coatings and installing the monolithic roof layer systems.

I have talked to an individual who is now retired but was once quite sucessfully involved in applying the roof coatings and installing the monolithic roof systems. I have discussed the possibilty of this individual refering work to me in exchange for "x-amount" percentage commision per completed job. This individual would also be available to help me estimate bids, give advice on material application/installation and would inspect the final completed job.

This individual tells me that he exclusively used Conklin Brand Products and they proved to be very excellent products but tended to be a bit expensive. I could be wrong but im assuming a significant part of the expense may have been the middleman distribution and the shipping expenses. He tells me the expense of the product took a sizeable bite out of the price of the job and that if possible i might want to considerlooking into some other brands of materials and coatings.

I will not be doing complete roof tear outs and reinstallations but will refer them to someone else. I will mainly be concentrating on mobile homes, warehouses, storage rental units and barn roofs. Due to the series of severe storms, tornados and severe storms weve had over the past eight years (and the ice storm of Feb 09) i see a lot of steel roofs being installed as opposed to shingle roofs. The steel roofs will most likely need some type of maintenance at a later date.