Roofing Talk - Professional Roofing Contractors Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a commercial roofing contractor in the Akron, OH area and have a large project with hundreds of seagulls on the flat roof. They had nestings and eggs throughout the roof. The eggs have hatched and the seagulls are very aggressive and swooping down on the workers. We have moved all the nests from the area we are working and installed nets across the work area so that they can't swoop down. Any ideas on how to work around this prolem? The baby seaguls are running around the different roof areas.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That would be great if you had enough work. Sounds like you don't need the work, I have 12 guy's that have to put food on the table. I contacted a critter control and there is nothing that they can do at this time. I read all kinds of stories about seagulls from boiling their eggs to shooting them, problem is they are protect and its illeagal to harm them.

·
Roofing Relapse
2,552 Posts
I need the work but I did not markt he cost of seagull puncture wounds or lost time chasing seagulls around the roof into my contract. Trust me I NEED the work, but I need an injury less. I NEED the work, but I need profitable work. I don't need time lost eating away at my profit. Although I need work, I need profit more than I need work. I'd rather have the guys collecting unemployment than working for practice.

This was not part of the bid therefore it is a change order. Plain and simple. Why should YOU be liable?