Roofing Talk - Professional Roofing Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

In case you haven't heard, I took a job as a Roofing Inspector for a municipal agency. Yeah, I'm an Inspector.
The job is great, the pay is great, the benefits are great...but, I miss Roofing.

I saw some guys laying out what had to be a hundred square wood shingle roof (a dream for me)
along a beautiful coast home literally feet from the beach and I would've loved to have been up there with them.

Don't get me wrong, I'm grateful for what I have, but I miss the actual "work" of Roofing.
I don't want to get all involved with the business of Roofing. I just want to physcially roof.
I'll take on whatever side jobs come along during the Spring & Summer,
but only nice little walkable "do in a day" roofs.

I'll tell you guys this though, I'm going to put away a stash and should something go wrong with this job,
I'm going to have all the money I need to immediately re-launch myself as a business with my first years expenses in the bank.

It's wierd how life works. I've worked so hard to develop myself professionally by traveling around the country
and taking chances where I lost so much time and money, but it all came back to me with this one job.

I need to get back up on a roof. I need to get a gun in my hand and lay out some serious squares.
I feel so confident now in being able to tackle any job that comes down the road and I might even
be ready to actually get a crew together and start doing some production work.
But for now, I have to keep working this job until I get that stash put aside.

God is good. God is great. I needed this job. I took a big hit last year.
But, as usual, I get back up, dust myself off and carry on with the good fight.
I almost wish I'd get fired so that I can hit the streets again and cold call
and hit up my old customers and start having that work coming in.