Roofing Talk - Professional Roofing Contractors Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Friends,
I am a semi-retired general contractor who is helping a client choose the most reliable roofing system. After receiving quotes, my client is now decided between two companies for his 6,000sq ft flat roof building. This will be for a complete tear down to the decking of an existing EPDM roof.

1) Company 1 proposes GAF Everguard 60 Mil TPO single ply membrane, with 3.5" ISO board. Comes with GAF 20 year "System Pledge" Warrany and the company's own personal 20 year warranty

2) Company 2 proposes Carlisle SynTec 60 Mil TPO Sure Weld White polyester reinforced TPO system with 3.5" isocyanurate rigid system. Comes with Carlisle 20 year no dollar limit, non prorated warranty. This company offers 1 free inspection.

Both quotes were relatively bid at the same price, about a 1k difference. From GAF.com, they may have a dollar limit to their warranty.

My client asked the following questions which I could not answer:
What are your professional opinions regarding each system and what would you go for? Has anyone had any experience regarding each manufacturer's warranties and any issues regarding it when a problem needs to be addressed? Which system has a more dependable track record?

Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Both companies adhere to the factory mutual system that guarantees that same materials (type and thickness) is universal throughout manufactures

·
Registered
9 Posts
Both the GAF and Carlisle quotes appear to be similar. Both are NDL Warranties and Both are Tier 1 Manufacturer's. If two contractors bid within $1,000 on a 60 square job it sounds like they either know each other or you got a good bid.

good luck.

·
Florida Roofer
38 Posts
Both brands have their positives