Roofing Talk - Professional Roofing Contractors Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
gammarat
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am limited in my commercial roofing experience but being fairly intelligent or observant as a contractor, i have come to the realization that the subs i have used in the past don't know much either so i am reaching out. I have a 9' x 12' flat sheet metal roof over a freezer at a resturant that is outside and due to crappy application and some shifting in foundation, is leaking like a sieve. it looks like someone tried to fix the flashing where it attaches to the main building with spray foam from a can lol. So for one, i take pride in being and honest contractor and also in learning anything i don't know and informing my clients of the same. This guy owns a lot of restaurants and i am sure properties so i want to do what's right. he grew a restaurant from one into many on his own and he is an italian from up north originally but been in texas over 20 years. I want to know any opinions on how you would approach this from a contractor point of view. I most likely will do the work myself with a helper. re-roof it? is there a coating i can apply? should i remove the foam or just cover it? i'll attach pics and thank you for any input. this is my first post on here so be gentle:)

Attachments

·
Registered
2 Posts
I have done a couple freezers which I install TPO fully adhered and T-bar all around The outside edge. Flash a minimum of 8 inches on to the main building apply water block behind the flashing T-bar np1 counter metal to cover t-bar and caulk.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Just out of curiosity please can you post more pictures of the completed flat roof please? It would be really good to see how you accomplished this small project.

Hope you got more work from the Italian :)

·
Registered
1 Posts
Answer

Hi there.
You have to remove the foam and start from scratch. Think about any liquid ribber protective coatings