How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business - Business, Marketing, and Sales - Contractor Talk

How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2017, 06:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
ericainsworth's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing Professional
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 10
Default

How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business


How do customer reviews affect your business?

I have heard that 70% of customer take a business's reviews into consideration before making a purchase.

What strategies do you use to get more 5-stars reviews?

Advertisement

ericainsworth is offline  
Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. RoofingTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-02-2017, 07:15 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
mastersroofing's Avatar
 
Trade:
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Edmonds
Posts: 22
Default

Re: How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business


Good question Eric. Most roofing customers going to the web are going to look at roofer reviews BEFORE they call you. No reviews, no calls, no jobs. Bad reviews that cannot be explained no calls, no jobs.

Chuck
Masters Roofing
mastersroofing is offline  
Old 02-06-2017, 06:04 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
info@saferoofing.ca's Avatar
 
Trade: Roofing contractor
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 15
Default

Re: How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business


I would suggest putting customer before anything else. Be a nice person, listen to what they have to say, give them VIP treatment and above everything: excellent workmanship. Roofing knowledge really helps doing that, assuming most customers all have at least one problem they need you to fix better than the average roofer. Nice presentation, good communication, quality control and proper safety procedures ensures your customer sees you as the one roofing company to hire. They will also tell their family and friends how good of a roof service you provide compared to other roofing companies. After giving them all they expected in such a fashion, they are way more likely to review your business.

www.saferoofing.ca
info@saferoofing.ca is offline  
Old 02-20-2017, 02:03 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
cooper@arooftech.com's Avatar
 
Trade:
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 10
Default

Re: How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business


My experience has been when I have had the time and extra energy I can get my customers to leave reviews by sending emails pointing them to where they need to go to leave a review and not just asking but almost begging them to leave one. Of course doing get work with a great experience is required, however you need to let people know that it is important to you for them to leave a review. I have also found that if you want reviews, getting them must be a everyday thought. A goal must be set, it must become apart of the job process much like ordering material. In other words you need to be serious about getting reviews to get reviews. Also who ever has spent the most time with the customer should be the one asking. That increases the odds of getting them.
www.arooftech.com

Last edited by [email protected]; 02-20-2017 at 02:05 PM. Reason: forgot something
cooper@arooftech.com is offline  
Old 02-25-2017, 02:35 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Sargeants Roofing's Avatar
 
Trade:
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1
Default

Re: How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business


Totally agree with his approach, this has become a big focus for us now - focusing on the google reviews and facebook reviews.

It wasn't a huge part of our business but is certainly trending in that direction. Everything we do now, we check reviews first. Movies, car dealerships, restaurants. It is only a matter of time before this becomes the biggest deciding factor.
Sargeants Roofing is offline  
Old 03-02-2017, 06:16 PM   #6
Roofing Relapse
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,559
Default

Re: How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business


If nothing else, customer reviews help search engine ranking.
__________________
Thomas


http://www.illinoisroofinspections.com
Grumpy is offline  
Old 03-03-2017, 07:49 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
cooper@arooftech.com's Avatar
 
Trade:
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 10
Default

Re: How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business


Whether reviews help your local rankings online is not really confirmed. If you listen to the SEO folks out there, they say reviews used to mean something when ranking locally but that changed a year or so ago. In order to more or ad revenue google made business location and searchers location the most important factor ranking the local section of the serp's. Whether or not reviews help with rankings the statistics on how many people use online reviews to determine who they will call is overwhelming. And for that reason alone it should be your number one reason to get them.
cooper@arooftech.com is offline  
Old 03-10-2017, 03:09 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
harvestroofing's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential & Commercial
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Re: How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business


Reviews are a pretty huge deal for getting business online! It's best to have a process in place to ask how the customer liked the job once it's done, and then you can solicit a review. Having a process to do that makes it much easier to get reviews!

Even more important is to monitor your online reputation for bad reviews. Bad reviews do less damage if you're able to respond to them in a professional manner, which Yelp and Google both let you do.
harvestroofing is offline  
Old 03-10-2017, 03:12 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
harvestroofing's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential & Commercial
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Re: How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business


Also a lot of people here seem to be confused/giving misinformation about how reviews affect your SEO.

It's important to have reviews across the web for SEO.. period. Highest priority are Google and Yelp. You only need a few to get a star rating listed next to your Google Maps search result.

Think: if you're listed third but you have a higher star rating than whoever is listed first or second, which business is going to get clicked and called? (You!)

And even more important than simply having the reviews.. is having reviews with keywords. Indirectly coaching your customers to state *which* service they are happy about when they review you (ie your roof repair, roof replacement, etc) will help you get more keywords in the reviews naturally. This will make an impact on how high you rank for those terms in your area.
harvestroofing is offline  
Old 03-18-2017, 11:36 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
BillWhite's Avatar
 
Trade:
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Bessemer, AL
Posts: 3
Default

Re: How Do Customer Reviews Impact Your Business


We have really started focusing on obtaining reviews from our clients over the past year. After we have completed a job that we know our client was completely satisfied with, we provide a handout with detailed instructions on how to leave us a review, either on Google, Yelp, or whichever platform we are focusing on at the time. We have also been emailing past clients explaining how important reviews are for a roofing company and kindly asking if they would mind leaving us one. So far these methods have paid off. We have a 5 star rating on Google as well as Facebook.

Steve
www.bwroof.com
BillWhite is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to purchase General Liability Insurance for your roofing business FarmerBrown Farmer Brown Insurance Agency 2 03-16-2017 11:47 AM
Customer threats NCR Business, Marketing, and Sales 7 01-15-2016 06:13 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

Privacy Badge
I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
ContractorTalk.com is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At ContractorTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?

 

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1