Roof Repair : To replace all plywood or part of it on the roof? - General Roofing Discussion - Contractor Talk

Roof Repair : To replace all plywood or part of it on the roof?

Old 04-04-2018, 09:37 PM   #1

Trade: Newbie

Roof Repair : To replace all plywood or part of it on the roof?

I am a newbie here and would appreciate any help with my roof related question.

During a recent storm here in New England , many shingles from the rear roof came off . We got this house about 1.5 years back and the rear roof was found to be 4-5 years old and in new condition so it's a surprise . A local professional (who we used to replace the front roof and did a great job replacing it when we first moved in to the house ) has recommended that we replace all the plywood since he found several areas to be soft and the place where the shingles came off is delaminated and falling apart. His estimate is as follows
1) Remove all roofing
2) Renail loose decking
3)magnetically rake area each day
4)Counter Flash Chimney
5)Replace soil pipe flanges around pipes
6) install ridge vent on all ridge lines where needed
7)clean gutters and down spouts
8) renail all playwood of entire roof
9)6ft of CertainTeed ice and water shield
10) grace high performance roofing underlayment
11) 8 inch white aluminium drip edge

Another guy came in and took a look and this contractor we have never used before but seems to have good reviews .. he said that he would only replace 5-7 plywood sheets and not the entire 18-20 that the first guy wants to ..his estimate is as follows
1) Strip existing roof
2) Renail boards where needed
3)Replace plywood 5 sheets in estimate rest at $40/sheet if needed
4)Install ice and water shield 3ft from gutter line
5)Install 50 year synthetic Rhino waterproofing to remaining roof
6)Install 5 inch white drip edge
7) new vent pipe flashings
Remove all material