Increasing life span of EPDM roof

Old 09-25-2011, 09:20 AM   #1

Trade: Property management

Increasing life span of EPDM roof

I am a property manager and I have a 170,000 +- sq ft building with an EPDM roof.

It is Omnova Genflex installed in 2002.

It is still in good shape but I fear that in the future it will dry out and start cracking like an old rubber tire. I would like that day to be as far as possible in the future.

I was wondering if there is a sure fire way to coat it with something that will preserve it and maybe make it a lighter color that will reduce the heat load in the summer.

I am skeptical of manufacturers claims. I would prefer advice from people familiar with EPDM roof maintenance.

There is an area in one corner that is low and has a puddle there most of the time. I haven't decided what to do about it but I was thinking of a roof drain.

Thanks to Google satellite images, here is the roof:

Any suggestions?

Last edited by workahallick; 09-26-2011 at 10:30 AM.
Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 09-26-2011, 10:10 AM   #2

Trade: Commercial/Anything with little to no slope.

Re: Increasing life span of EPDM roof

I am shocked I have not had to many property managers proactive about their roofs!

EPDM will not dry out and crack like a tire per say. It will weather away and become thinner over the life span.

How long of a warranty do you have? I ask this because using anything other then the manufactures coating will void the warranty so that limits your options.

The low spot will need to be taken care of in some way. I would not want any standing water on the coating. 24 hours max the less the better.