Sales Manuals, Courses and Organizations.....Any Experience And Opinions?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2009, 10:02 PM   #41
Junior Member
 
Dr. Deth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Re: Sales Manuals, Courses and Organizations.....Any Experience And Opinions?


If you stick around long enough there is a good chance that that you will find out that "skuzball" will refer to more than just some members. Every thing worth a grain of salt you will get at your first expo. Take what you want to use and run like hell. In my opinion there is not any new material coming from roofers success interntional that is worth while. They will show you there hand up front. I have found forums like contractor talk to be much more helpful. There are many sharp contractors from all trades that post very helpful information and are always willing to help out. To be perfectly honest, I learned more from reading and participating in the contractor talk forum than I ever learned from roofers success international.

Advertisement

Dr. Deth is offline  
Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-26-2009, 06:30 PM   #42
Junior Member
 
serrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Re: Sales Manuals, Courses and Organizations.....Any Experience And Opinions?


Sorry guys I was away for a conference.Ed,My name is Ovid Figueroa.I am the owner of Serrano Roofing out of Middletown,NY.I know outlaw because he is in one of the groups that meets with me inOct.In Prosult you open up to the point that you can tell who you are talking to with a basic discription of there company,like was done earlier.I know it was Jack because that was the only time something like that had happened in any group,and his posts sound like him.JackI am sorry if that experience still bothers you but your your discription of us is like we are goose stepping behind Monroe is certainly inaccurate.

I opened my company in 1987 doing mostly siding.I got into windows and roofing within a few years.I did all sales and ran a crew and ran between 2 and 5 man crews over the next12 years.After my son was born in 1999 I closed up shop went to work with a general contractor for 2 years than in 2001 reopened 1 county northin a new market.Before the end of 2003 my back had gotten so bad I needed to get off of the roof.In 04 I was working out of my home and it was tough with the volume so i put together the plan to move into a small office and hire an OM.I met Monroe at a Certainteed contractor seminar.Spoke to him for 15 min,he gave me some referances.I looked into some others but they seemed to be cookie cuter programs.Since i joined prosult,my sales have not fluctuated by more than 15% yr to yr,I have gone from working over 3000hrs a year to approx 2400,I have tripled my income,I connot put a price on how much my better quality of life is worth.Now Monroe may be the driving force behind prosult but the True power is the 48 other roofers and the painter and landscpers that are in his other groups.All different models designed to meet the owners personality.I have done over 13 visits and that is the power.When you get to see every aspect of how someone else oporates without them holding back anything,happy to help each other with any thing they may need.Monroe is very intuitive,and if you have any problems he knows which contractor you should talk or visit that has been through what you have or already has that spread sheet designed,ect...Prosult has has shortened my learning curve.

In a nut shell I have learned how to understand and manage my overhead,and job costs.Use that understanding to price my jobs accordingly for a healthy profit.Learned how to find,train and manage good employees to produce a quality product profitably.Refine our customer service program to prduce quality referrals and develope a strong name brand in the comunity.And by working with Monroe and a Buiseness phsycologist that works with prosult,come to understand my weaknesses and tendencys so I can make better choices based on the facts not fears.

I hope this a little better discription of what prosult has done for me.

Last edited by serrano; 02-26-2009 at 09:22 PM. Reason: couldnt finish the first time,had an emergency
serrano is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 05:01 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
OUTLAW's Avatar
 
Trade: ROOFING SIDING WINDOWS GUTTERS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: VIRGINIA
Posts: 168
Default

Re: Sales Manuals, Courses and Organizations.....Any Experience And Opinions?


Serrano,

I agree with you when you say the true power is in the group. Although, having Monroe and Dan and Russ and too shabby either.

One big difference between the prosult forum and this one is you got to go face-to-face with the prosult people. On these forums you be full of BS and nobody will ever know. However, when you get in the board meeting and your numbers for the year areon the table, there is no hiding.

Are you going to the Sales Reveiw in Baltimore? Hope to see you there.
OUTLAW is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 04:26 PM   #44
Senior Member
 
OUTLAW's Avatar
 
Trade: ROOFING SIDING WINDOWS GUTTERS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: VIRGINIA
Posts: 168
Default

Re: Sales Manuals, Courses and Organizations.....Any Experience And Opinions?


I attented the Contractors Edge Round Table yesterday in Richmond. A lot of the same info that you would get from the afore mentioned sales organizations. Just condensed into a four hour format.

What a pitty that most of the contractors there didn't need it. The ones who needed it were out busy low-balling more jobs.
OUTLAW is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 04:23 PM   #45
Junior Member
 
ATC1984's Avatar
 
Trade: Sales Manager
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Re: Sales Manuals, Courses and Organizations.....Any Experience And Opinions?


alittle off topic but I highly recommend The Sandler Sales Training. I have never been to the actual training but I was able to get my hands on one of his books from the training. My personal sales have never been better and I havent even finished the book.

I have never been a huge fan of the traditional "back em into a corner" sales method and his concept goes very much against any other training I have ever received.
ATC1984 is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 06:47 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
Ed the Roofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 755
Default

Re: Sales Manuals, Courses and Organizations.....Any Experience And Opinions?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ATC1984 View Post
alittle off topic but I highly recommend The Sandler Sales Training. I have never been to the actual training but I was able to get my hands on one of his books from the training. My personal sales have never been better and I havent even finished the book.

I have never been a huge fan of the traditional "back em into a corner" sales method and his concept goes very much against any other training I have ever received.
That would be right on target for what this threads premise was to be about.

Now, is that a "Special" Sandler book, just for seminar attendees, that you got your hands on, or is available to the public?

What is the title?

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 07:41 PM   #47
user182
 
user182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 313
Default

Re: Sales Manuals, Courses and Organizations.....Any Experience And Opinions?


I have had extensive training in the Sandler Sales System.

I bought a lifetime membership in the ďPresidents ClubĒ back in 2002.

I can go to 2 sessions per week if I want to. I used to go twice per week when I first started. Now I only go once in a while.

It was great training. I had never had any training prior to Sandler. I started out pounding nails a long time ago.

However itís generic training, so you have to come up with your own method for applying it to what you do.

Sandler is very different to traditional sales methods and itís difficult to execute.

David Sandler died around 1998 but they have over a hundred franchisees around the country. I donít know if they have updated their system since he died.

The trainer I had was very rigid. Everything had to be done exactly according to their system or else you were screwing up.

Itís that way with all of the Guru Type trainer or coaches. So long as you buy into their system youíre OK. IF you have any differing opinion theyíll make you look like a fool.

I could go on and on about sales training but I donít have the time.

Iíve had live trying from Phil Rea & Rodney Webb.

Audio & video training from Dave Yoho and a 2 day seminar from Dave Yoho.

I drive about hour each way to work so Iíve listened to all kinds of audio training.

Iím in the process of perfecting my own sales system. I am going to combine things that Iíve learned from all of them.
user182 is offline  
Old 03-14-2009, 11:41 PM   #48
Junior Member
 
ATC1984's Avatar
 
Trade: Sales Manager
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Re: Sales Manuals, Courses and Organizations.....Any Experience And Opinions?


From what I understand you can only get it at a seminar

It is titled "you cant teach a kid to ride a bike at a seminar" by david h. sandler.

I dont think his techniques are all that difficult to apply. I am a personal fan of the "negative reverse selling."

I think the system would be rather difficult to apply had I been in sales for longer than I have. Ive been selling for almost 4 years in different industries now so I have never gotten to attached to any particular "selling system".

For someone that has been in sales for 10 year plus may find it hard to make such a dramatic change from what they have been told their whole career.
ATC1984 is offline  
Old 03-31-2009, 09:40 PM   #49
Senior Member
 
OUTLAW's Avatar
 
Trade: ROOFING SIDING WINDOWS GUTTERS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: VIRGINIA
Posts: 168
Default

Re: Sales Manuals, Courses and Organizations.....Any Experience And Opinions?


I have a friend that just attended a sales seminar by Rodney Webb. Any of you guys every heard of him?

If so, what are your thoughts?
OUTLAW is offline  
Old 04-01-2009, 12:05 AM   #50
Senior Member
 
Ed the Roofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 755
Default

Re: Sales Manuals, Courses and Organizations.....Any Experience And Opinions?


I know a few, plus I know Jack has seen him.

They all say he could claim to sell very well, like in the 90% closing rate.

Ed
Ed the Roofer is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

Privacy Badge
I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
ContractorTalk.com is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At ContractorTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1